What's new in the Gallery?
Check This thread

Guess who bought a laser cutter? (picture heavy)

Post and discuss "Off Topic" things here...

Moderator: Moderators

Misellus
Registered Seller
Registered Seller
Master of Masking

Guess who bought a laser cutter? (picture heavy)

#1 Post by Misellus »

I'm a tech nerd. I love CNC routers, 3D Printers, laser cutters etc. The ability to take an idea from my head into the real world excites me. I bought my first 3d printer around 10 years ago, built a cnc router a year or so later. A few months ago I was playing around with a low power laser head that attached to my 3d printer and decided it kinda sucked. So I bought a nice laser engraver (blue laser). Then a cheap CO2 laser cutter. Yeah, I get obsessed and then spend money, always been a problem. I didn't need a tax refund this year anyway.

This will be a show and tell about my new toys.

These are the first few engravings I made. Yes, what else would you do with $1000 of equipment other than print anime girls. These were done on the CO2 laser and were the first 2 engravings I made with it (meaning this is day 1 stuff)

I wanted to see how it did small things. Looks better from a distance. Gray and muddy original results in a gray and muddy etching. Noted.

I used different software this time. It really did a nice job with the differentiating the darker shades of gray. Bad news, it was bad at moving the laser head and kept slamming the head into the frame. I stopped using the program. Eventually it'd cause real damage.

6 layer shadowbox I made. I found the clipart online and separated the color layers. I'm happy it turned out as well as it did, but there are a lot of problems. Fixing it would be starting over from scratch, so I haven't tried yet.

This was supposed to be a cutting but I didn't have the power high enough, so it's an etching. Image came from an old scroll saw pattern book.